An (aspiring) Educator’s Blog

An educator blogging….novel idea.

Avoiding Blog Market Failure (Comic)

with 7 comments

Entry summary: “How does the ed commentariat benefit the true proletariat (teachers)?”

“That Works….” – An EducatorBlog Comic

Diversification

Dangerously Irrelevant‘s Top 50 P-12 EdBlogs list sparked debates on multiple blogs (including mine) about the nature of the edublogopshere. Why do tech blogs dominate the Top 50? Are new bloggers being shut out of the edublog community? What responsibilities do veteran edubloggers have to new edubloggers?

I guess you could call me a ‘free market blogger’. I believe that the laws of supply and demand applies to the blogging market: when a consumer (reader) wants to find information, s/he can do a search on Google or Technorati to find the information they seek. All markets can experience failure. A failure in the blog market is when consumers cannot find the information they seek and producers are shielded from consumers who would like to read their blogs. Are there inefficiencies in the edublog market that are creating entry barriers for new bloggers? Are there blog titans that exert market power (monopolies/oligarchies)? Do these questions matter?

It’s cool that the education blog community is so aware of itself that it can engage in acts of meta-blog-nition, but as Dr. Phil once said (on an episode of Oprah…no, I don’t watch Dr. Phil): “there are topics and there are issues”. Although the inner-workings of the edublogosphere is an interesting topic, I wonder – why does the ed tech debate matter? What are the deeper issues?

This question is important to me. I start co-teaching/grad studies soon and I wonder how my blog will change as I transform from (naive) student to (slightly jaded but still optimistic) teacher in a Title I school. What can my blog do for me? What can it do for others? Does the ‘sphere matter? How does the ed commentariat benefit the true proletariat (teachers) and others with a stake in education (i.e., parents, administrators, community members, and the media)? There are large opportunity costs associated with bloggers’ time. Every minute a teacher or administrator spends writing a blog entry could be spent on professional development, out of class work, acts of advocacy in the community, or other aspects of life that are not related to education. What meaningful contribution can my blog make in solving issues of education and social justice?

What do you think, fellow ed commentariats? What are the real issues of the edublogosphere? Everyone will have different answers to these questions – please share.

Written by TeacherC

9 June 2008 at 12:30 am

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am a fairly new blogger. Do I feel shut out from the edublog community, no, intimidated, perhaps.
    The idea of a free market blog market it really interesting. It will be eye opening in the future to see if that idea works with this media.
    There are always deeper issues, they work themselves out like splinters even in edublogs.
    I can see the tranformation for myself as I am going from teacher into the next realm, administration. Remember to step back and reflect.
    I have asked myself the time issue on blogging. Sometimes I use blogging like a crossword puzzle or sudako game. It keeps my mind busy through exercise. Blogging also helps me gain information which is the part I enjoy the most. Last but not least blogging makes me reflect on my own ideas, interests, and knowledge.
    So… any time that you take to do the above will also hopefully become a meaningful contribution towards solving issues of education and social justice.
    As long as you don’t live in the ‘Land of Blog’

    David B.

    9 June 2008 at 6:16 pm

  2. Yeah – blogging is like a sudoku puzzle for me too. It stops me from getting lost in daytime TV while I’m on vacation. When I start having more teaching/education experiences, the focus will change.

    educatorblog

    10 June 2008 at 12:21 am

  3. I think blogging, for me, is more about self-reflection than (necessarily) adding anything new and/or useful to the conversation. Because I have a few consistent readers with whom I do not always agree, it allows me to sharpen my arguments, and my thinking process…

    Ian H.

    11 June 2008 at 2:09 pm

  4. After almost two years of blogging and podcasting, I’ve come to the conclusion that I have to blog nd podcast about what I know best.

    That best is not about technical stuff or the new digital technology. What I know best is people in schools and classrooms, especially reluctant/struggling learners and their teachers. So I just keep blogging about my passion and answering the emails and responding to the comments I get from teachers, parents and kids. That’s what keeps me going.

    Elona Hartjes

    11 June 2008 at 8:38 pm

  5. I agree – blog what you know.

    educatorblog

    13 June 2008 at 11:59 pm

  6. […] presents Avoiding Blog Market Failure (Comic) – An (aspiring) Educator’s Blog posted at An (aspiring) Educator’s Blog , saying, "A new edublogger asks […]

  7. […] presents Avoiding Blog Market Failure (Comic) – An (aspiring) Educator’s Blog posted at An (aspiring) Educator’s Blog , saying, "A new edublogger asks […]


Leave a Reply

