An (aspiring) Educator’s Blog

An educator blogging….novel idea.

My Blog Can Beat Up Your Blog (Don’t Worry – It’s the Blog High Talking)

with 3 comments

This blog has had 951 hits and between 10 (Feedburner) to 18 (Google Reader) subscribers since June 2nd. I’m pleasantly surprised by these numbers. I understand that I’m no edublogosphere Goliath and that this blog (and I) will continue to mature.

Most popular post: An Educator’s Guide to Post-Modern Authorship and Literacy in the Classroom

Least popular post: Seattle Schools are Resegregating

My favorite (relatively) unpopular post: When washing their mouths out with soap isn’t an option.

Most commented posts (11 comments each): Do Teachers Influence Blackness? and Diversity 2.5.1 (BETA)? (Comic)

My teacher ed program begins on Monday. I won’t be as prolific as I am right now (multiple posts on some days) but I will update this blog a few times per week.

Thanks for reading. I look forward to debating with you soon.

Written by TeacherC

18 June 2008 at 4:25 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This stuff is just great. I’m trying not to say I can’t believe you’re just 22 years old, because that would be so patronizing, but I can’t wait to learn more from you.

    If you were to recommend just two texts for a high school “diversity forum” (not too long, not too high reading level), which would you go for? Since you read that kind of literature even as a high school kid, you might be in a good position to know what readings might bring about constructive changes in thinking for 16 year olds.

    H.

    18 June 2008 at 6:49 pm

  2. H – Thanks for your kind words. Most diversity books I can think of are too long, too econ/stats intensive, and not age appropriate for high schoolers. I would look at this website: http://www.middleschooldebate.com/topics/topiclists.htm. Find debate topics that relate to diversity, citizenship, etc and then use the resources on the website to stage a debate (or a few) about these topics – students should be the debaters. You can help them research and give them mini-lessons on argumentation. Even though all people in the forum can’t debate, you can host a public style debate – have a period in the middle for points of information and questions from the audience, have a moderator, etc. If you’d like more information about this idea, email me.

    educatorblog

    18 June 2008 at 9:39 pm

  3. Welcome to the education blogging world. It always trips me out that people actually read what I post.

    I have been edublogging as an interested parent for two and something years. Education has so hooked me that I plan on becoming a teacher in the next few years, as soon as I retire from the Air Force.

    I look forward to your preview of ed school.


Leave a Reply

