An (aspiring) Educator’s Blog

An educator blogging….novel idea.

The only ENTJ in the elementary lounge?

leave a comment »

According to the folks at Typealyzer (via the Cool Cat Teacher Blog) this blog exhibits traits of an INTP thinker:

Educatorblog Typalyzed

Educatorblog Typalyzed

Brain Activity

I’ve received an ENTJ score on the MBTI since I was 16 years old. TypeLogic says:

ENTJs have a natural tendency to marshall and direct. This may be expressed with the charm and finesse of a world leader or with the insensitivity of a cult leader. The ENTJ requires little encouragement to make a plan.

ENTJs are often “larger than life” in describing their projects or proposals. This ability may be expressed as salesmanship, story-telling facility or stand-up comedy. In combination with the natural propensity for filibuster, our hero can make it very difficult for the customer to decline.

TRADEMARK: — “I’m really sorry you have to die.”

It is estimated that ENTJs compose 3% of the total population, 4.5% of the male population, and 1.5% of the female population.

ENTJs

Personality tests can’t fully describe my presence on this planet but my friends and family tend to agree that I’m bold, decisive, ambitious, and dominant. A charming bully, so to speak.

When I told my parents I wanted to be an elementary school teacher, they were shocked. Stereotypically, elementary school teachers are not ENTJs. They are the nurturers…the “touchy feely types”. Their leadership styles and professionalism exude emotional insight. I’m not a robot, but I don’t think about problems or communicate with others in the same way.

Maybe tests like the MBTI are misleading – we all have multiple identities. I’m an ENTJ in my academic and personal life and an INTP on this blog. What am I in my professional life? It’s hard to tell – I wish they had a typealyzer for teachers. I do my best teaching when I’m authentic – true to myself. My master teacher in my 2nd grade student teaching placement said that I have a “common sense, down to earth” style to my interactions with students. Student teaching 2nd graders expanded the bounds of my teaching persona – I did read alouds in multiple voices, had alter egos in the form of puppets, had crazy dance parties, learned 3 new knock knock jokes per day, and enjoyed hugs from students. Now, I’m student teaching in a 5th grade classroom. Although humor (knock knock jokes to puns and sarcasm), content (doubling to algebra), and many other variables have changed, I think my “common sense, down to earth” persona remains the same.

Can you identify personality common personality types in your staff lounge? Does it differ by the age group of the students taught, subject matter, or position?  Does your persona change between teaching periods? Does these things impact our school or online communities?

Written by TeacherC

27 February 2009 at 2:06 pm

Leave a Reply

