An (aspiring) Educator’s Blog

An educator blogging….novel idea.

Teacher Geek Sites of the (Mid) Week (March 31, 2009)

with one comment

It takes a good website to get me through the middle of the week. Here are a few I’ve been geeking out to (in a teacher kind of way) this week:

For the budding filmmaker: Xtra Normal

Create animated movies with this awesome tool. There is an easy-to-use interface for typing a script (text to voice!), adding movement and facial expressions, choosing actors, designing the scene and props, and adding the finishing touches to your short movie. You do not have to sign up to try this website (but if you want to save your movies, you might want to – it’s free). I was thinking about classroom uses (Will I ever be able to enjoy a website in a non-teacher geek way again?) – this could be a great way for students to generate their own content. My only concern was the content monitoring of other films (I am not sure if posted films are moderated). I plan on using this to add movies to my blog.

picture-32

For the geek historian: Playing History (Thanks to @a_armstrong for the tip!)

I.love.history.games. I make daily references to the lessons I learned playing The Oregon Trail (to ford or not to ford?). Use this website to find and play free historical games. I’ve been enjoying The Battle of the Atlantic Game.

picture-52

For the GTD nerd: chron me

I use this simple stopwatch to keep myself on-task. Chron me shows split times on the screen and these are exportable to .csv files. Ten minutes of twitter/web distractions for every 50 minutes of work? Enforceable with chron me. (If I really need to get work done, I find a friend who uses all of my social networking vices (twitter, facebook, etc) and tell them I will pay $1 for every facebook post, $2 for every twitter post, and $10 for blog posts that they catch in a certain time window…..whatever works…..)

picture-61

For the thrifty consumer: Woot!

Teachers need things on the cheap. From luxiorious wine packs to golf clubs and iPods, woot! posts one unbeatable deal per day. Many items run out within minutes or hours of posting so I follow their twitter feed (@woot) and put it on mobile alerts. I scored a cheap iPod a few days ago.

picture-7

Enjoy the rest of your week. Impress your friends with obscure facts about the Battle of the Pacific, make an animated bromance film, or indulge in retail therapy. Maybe I’ll owe you money if you see me on twitter….

Written by TeacherC

31 March 2009 at 7:46 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is great information, thanks. My kids love to make videos and I can’t wait to show them the first site.

    You might enjoy seeing their videos at http://youtube.com/cowshugpugs and my blog can be found at erasundar.wordpress.com

    Era

    31 March 2009 at 8:11 pm


Leave a Reply

